Elixir- read from stdin

Hi everybody!

I have a problem trying to solve a challenge in Elixir.

I decided to solve my challenge using Elixir because I would like to learn something new while I’m facing these challenges. So… here’s my situation:

At my first attempt at MR some exercise I was reading the data directly from the file using the command File.read(“DATA.lst”). my merge request was close and I received a message that says “read data from stdin”. Ok… I’m a rookie in programming so I needed to google what does it means and I found that stdin is short for standard input , stdin is an input stream where data is sent to and read by a program and the way to use it in Elixir its the following:

• change File.read(“DATA.lst”) for IO.read(:stdio, :line)
  • In terminal type cat(type) DATA.lst | elixir program.exs

Ok, here is where I need you to tell me if I’m wrong. but I will continue with other things that I saw. This way of executing an Elixir file is named running elixir file as a script and this is what it does:

1. A BEAM instance is started
  2. The file prueba.exs is loaded and compiled in memory. The interpreted symbols are loaded into the VM.
  3. The code after the module, (i.e. Prueba.main) is interpreted and run.
  4. After completing the execution, the BEAM instance is shutdown.

You can read this on this page: https://thinkingelixir.com/2019-04-running-an-elixir-file-as-a-script/

So, to expose my problem(without show my solution jeje) I made the following program:

A simple hello world program that takes from stdin a string from a file to print a message, this is what I type in the terminal and the output:

So… It works!!! :star_struck: :partying_face: :partying_face:. I try the same with my program and this was the output:

everything was so happy at this point. uwu

Ok I push to my branch my solution and the pipeline crush :sob: :sob: :sob: and this was the error message: